All Awards: 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998

The Gollapudi Srinivas Memorial Foundation

The foundation was instituted in 1998 by Mr. Gollapudi Maruthi Rao, a renowned actor, writer, director and playwright to perpetuate the memory of his youngest son Gollapudi Srinivas. Srinivas died in an unfortunate mishap, while directing his first film "Prema Pustakam (Book of Love)" at Visakhapatnam on 12th August 1992.

His brothers GV Subba Rao and GV Ramakrishna resolved to celebrate the "Spirit of Srinivas" through the Gollapudi Srinivas National Award. Srinivas lives on, in every director who receives the award every year.

The Gollapudi Srinivas National Award

The Gollapudi Srinivas National Award is presented each year, by the Foundation to the "Best debut director" of feature films in any Indian Language. Directors may nominate their films through the nominations page above.

The memento, the Vamahasta of Lord Nataraja symbolising dynamism and excellence, endeavours to "Keep the Flame Alive." in every director receiving this award. The Gollapudi family seeks to embrace every winner into it's fold through this award.

This is the 14th year of the pursuit of excellence in debut ventures of Indian cinema with a cash award of Rs. 1.5 lakhs. The winner is selected from a list of nominations by an eminent jury comprising of leading directors and technicians of Indian Cinema. Ever since it's inception, this award has gained great national recognition and has come to be a coveted award among newcomers.

The foundation aims to strengthen the moral fabric of society by encouraging original, compassionate and sensitive thought in the inspiring visual medium of films. The award focuses exclusively on emerging talent, personified by Srinivas in his brief life and appropriately given away on the day he passed away.

website design & hosting provided by Indya Web
For website technical support contact